h1

The Spider & The Fly – The Rolling Stones

July 19, 2008

Sittin’
Thinkin’
Sinkin’
Drinkin’
Wonderin’ what I’ll do
when I’m through tonight.
Smokin’
Mopin’
Maybe just hopin’
some little girl will pass on by
Don’t wanna be alone
and I love my girl at home.
I remember what she said.

She said, “My, my, my!
Don’t tell lies.
Keep fidelity in your head.
My my my!
Don’t tell lies.
When you’re done
you should go to bed
Don’t say hi
like a spider to a fly.
Jump right ahead and you’re dead”

Sit up.
Fed up.
Low down.
Go round
down to the bar at the place I’m at.
Sittin’
Drinkin’
Superficially thinkin’
about the rinsed-out blond on my left.
Then I said ‘hi’
like a spider to a fly,
remembering what my little girl said.

She was common, flirty,
she looked about thirty
I would have run away
but I was on my own
She told me later
she’s a machine operator
She said she liked the way
I held the microphone
I said “My, my, my!”
like the spider to the fly.
Jump right ahead in my web.

One comment

  1. Class song



Leave a Reply

