h1

The Water is Wide – Bob Dylan w/ Joan Baez

July 30, 2008

The water is wide and I can’t cross over
I neither have wings so I can fly
Build me a boat that can carry two
And both shall row, my love and I

There is a ship and it sails on the sea
It’s loaded deep as deep can be
But not so deep as the love I’m in
I know not if I sink or swim

I leaned my back against an oak
Thinking it was a trusty tree
But first it bent and then it broke
So did my love prove false to me

Oh love is gentle and love is kind
Gay as a jewel when first it’s new
But love grows old and waxes cold
And fades away like some morning dew

The water is wide and I can’t cross over
I neither have wings so I can fly
Build me a boat that can carry two
And both shall row, my love and I

Leave a Reply

