h1

My Sinful Days Are Over – Big Sandy & The Fly-Rite Boys

September 10, 2008

Well, if you read your Bible
It’s right there in black & white.
That you should never lie or steal,
or cheat, or drink, or fight.
Now if you observe this life I live
it should be plain to you,
I’m the best example you’ll ever find
of things you oughtn’t do.

My sinful days are over,
so let me hear ‘Amen!’
My sinful days are over
and over again.

Now, away with that Tequila
and that whiskey on the rocks
Take up those bottles filled with beer
and put them in a box.
Be rid of all these evil things
and you shall be set free.
Just assure you don’t forget
to bring that bottle to me.

My drinkin’ days are over,
so let me hear ‘Amen!’
My drinkin’ days are over
and over again.

Now, all you men who fool around
and go cheatin’ on your wife,
on Judgment Day, you’ll have to pay.
It could cost you your life.
And all you cheatin’ women,
Lawdy! hang your head in shame,
and, when that day of judgment comes,
don’t mention my name!

My cheatin’ days are over,
so let me hear ‘Amen!’
My cheatin’ days are over
and over again.

And, to those of you so quick
to fight, I have but this to say,
Quit throwin’ punches left and right
Cause there is a better way.
Now, when some joker tries to take a poke,
you just let him pass.
When he’s his back to you
just turn and kick his..

My fightin’ days are over
so let me hear ‘Amen!’
My fightin’ days are over
and over again.

One comment

  1. This is my new favorite song!!! I love it !!!

    Gilbert C



Leave a Reply

