h1

Ribbons Round My Tongue – Two Gallants

March 14, 2009

Oh lady fair,
Your strangling hair
Ribbons around my tongue.
I try to speak.
My thoughts grow weak
From all the yarns you’ve spun.
I heard them say that evil may
Walk in beauty’s shoes.

Well, if ever I could love myself
Then I’ll stop loving you.

Were you out the other night
Flirting with all my friends?
I heard you told a joke or two
With my name at the end.
come ’round home, I’m all alone,
Tell me that just ain’t true.

Well if ever I could love myself
then I’ll stop loving you.

When you’re gone, I’ll carry on,
It’s never meant to last.
I’d much prefer to sit alone
And dream about the past.
So I say “Some how, some way”
Till I believe it’s true.

And, if ever I could love myself
then I’ll stop loving you.

Leave a Reply

