h1

All The Best – John Prine

March 26, 2009

I wish you love
And happiness
I guess I wish
You all the best
I wish you don’t
Do like I do
And ever fall in love with
Someone like you
Cause if you fell
Just like I did
You’d probably walk around the block like a little kid.
But kids don’t know
They can only guess
How hard it is
To wish you happiness

I guess that love
Is like a Christmas card
You decorate a tree
You throw it in the yard
It decays and dies
And the snowmen melt
Well I once knew love
I knew how love felt

Yeah, I knew love. Love knew me.
And when I walked, Love walked with me.
And, I got no hate
And, I got no pride
Well, I got so much love that I cannot hide.

Say you drive a Chevy.
Say you drive a Ford.
You say you drive around the town till you just get bored
Then you change your mind
For something else to do.
And your heart gets bored with your mind and it changes you.

Well, it’s a doggone shame
And, it’s an awful mess
I wish you love
I wish you happiness
I wish you love
I wish you happiness
I guess I wish you
All the best.

Leave a Reply

